HDTutorial
EN

Playback starts YouTube’s embedded player (privacy-enhanced mode).

How to Deactivate Facebook Account

284,736 views October 27, 2018 4:40

Watch on YouTube
ChannelMax Dalton

Description from the creator

This video walks you through how to deactivate your Facebook account on both the Facebook mobile app, and the Facebook website.

See more videos by Max here: youtube.com/c/MaxDalton

Video Transcript:
Deactivating your Facebook account temporarily prevents people from being able to see your Facebook account. Your Facebook friends will no longer see you in their friends list, people won't be able to find you in a Facebook search, your name will be removed from photos that you're tagged in. It's important to note that your profile isn't deleted, but more effectively hidden. You can reactivate your Facebook account at any time by simply logging in to your account. Your profile will instantly be reactivated: your friends will be able to see you, your name will be linked in photos that you're tagged in, and people will be able to find you in searches again.

This video will walk through how to deactivate your Facebook account through both the Facebook mobile app, and on the Facebook desktop website.

And now, let's walk through how to deactivate your Facebook account on an iPhone, iPad, or Android mobile device.

Step 1. Launch the Facebook mobile app and log into your account if prompted. You'll arrive at your Facebook home screen.

Step 2. Tap the icon featuring three horizontal lines on the far right side of the menu along the bottom of the screen. A menu appears on the screen.

Step 3. Scroll down to the bottom of this screen until you locate the Settings section. Tap "Settings." A menu flys up from the bottom of the screen.

Step 4. Tap "Account Settings" in the menu. The Settings screen appears.

Step 5. Tap "General" in the list of options that appear on the Settings screen. A screen appears that shows a list of general information associated with your Facebook account.

Step 6. Tap "Manage Account." The Manage Account screen appears.

Step 7. Tap the blue "Deactivate" link to the right of Account. An Enter Password screen appears, prompting you for the password to your Facebook account. Enter the password associated with your account, and then click the blue "Continue" button. The Deactivate Account screen appears.

Step 8. Scroll down the Deactivate Account screen and then supply a reason for deactivating your account. After selecting a deactivation reason, scroll down to the very bottom of this page and tap "Deactivate." You'll be logged out of your account and returned to the home screen for the Facebook app. At this point, you have successfully deactivated your Facebook account. You can reactivate your account at any time by logging in to Facebook on any device.

And now, let's walk through how to deactivate your Facebook account in the desktop version of Facebook's website.

Step 1. Open your Web browser, navigate to facebook.com, and then log into your account if prompted. You'll arrive at your Facebook home page.

Step 2. Click the down-pointing arrow that appears in the menu row to the right of your profile icon in the upper right corner of the screen. A drop-down menu appears.

Step 3. Click "Settings." The General Account Settings screen appears.

Step 4. Select "General" in the list of options on the left side of the screen if it's not selected already.

Step 5. Click "Edit" to the right of Manage Account. A new section appears beneath Manage Account.

Step 6. Locate the Deactivate Your Account part of the Manage Account section. Click the blue "Deactivate Your Account" link in the Deactivate Your Account section. A screen appears prompting you to enter the password associated with your Facebook account. Enter your account password, and then click the blue "Continue" button. A new screen appears asking if you're sure you want to deactivate your Facebook account.

Step 7. Choose an option in the Reason for Leaving section that represents why you're deactivating your Facebook account, and then click the blue "Deactivate" link at the bottom of this screen. A dialog box appears asking if you're certain you want to deactivate your account. Click "Deactivate Now" in this dialog box. You'll be logged out of your account and returned to the home screen for the Facebook website. At this point, you have successfully deactivated your Facebook account. You can reactivate your account at any time by logging in to Facebook on any device.

About this tutorial

Max Dalton published this 4:40 video tutorial on October 27, 2018. It has been watched 284,736 times on YouTube.

Channel
Max Dalton
Duration
4:40
Published
October 27, 2018
Views
284,736
Likes
1,047

Tags

Share

This tutorial in other languages